Tennessee Workers Comp Coverage

Accidents happen. And unfortunately lots of them happen in the workplace. In the state of Tennessee alone, this add up to tens of thousands of claims each year, resulting in hundreds of millions in expenditures on medical bills.

Keep in mind that fault does not matter when it comes to workplace injuries. And because an injury can sideline a worker for months, you can imagine that an employer’s expenses can add up quickly when facing a worker’s compensation claim. Fortunately, workers compensation coverage exists to protect you and your company from a lawsuit and to protect your employees from lost income and extensive medical bills.

In Tennessee, most all employers with five or more full- or part-time employees are required by law to carry workers’ compensation insurance. Those in the construction and mining industries, however, have to provide coverage even if there’s just one employee.

Under workers compensation law, employees who have suffered a work-related injury may be entitled to receive medical treatment at no cost to the employee for as long as is required by an authorized physician. The employee may also receive reimbursement for mileage to and from medical treatments and temporary disability benefits to replace lost wages. Temporary disability usually pays two-thirds of the injured worker’s average weekly wages.

Tennessee Workers Compensation Guidelines

The following workers compensation guidelines apply in the state of Tennessee, according to the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development:

  • An employee should report a work-related injury to a supervisor within 30 days of the day the injury occurred or within 30 days of when a doctor first tells an employee an injury is work related. Not only will reporting an injury sooner speed up the claims process, but the right to receive workers’ compensation benefits does not stay open forever. In most cases the deadline to request a Benefit Review Conference is one year from the date the injury occurred, the date the last temporary disability benefits were paid, or the day medical benefits were provided for the last injury.
  • Required forms should be completed by the injured person’s supervisor. Forms can be downloaded from the Department of Labor and Workforce Development’s website.
  • Using the “Agreement between Employer/Employee Choice of Physician” Form C-42.A, the supervisor should provide the injured employee with a list of three nearby doctors who are willing to provide workers compensation medical treatment. The employee will then select one of these doctors, who will become the “authorized treating physician” for the duration of treatment.

Have questions about how workers compensation in Tennessee works? Need to secure coverage for your company and employees? Visit Elite Insurance Solutions’ Locations & Contact page to find the Tennessee location and agent nearest you.

 

Directors and officers liability insurance can help protect the assets of your executive team. Give yourself some more peace of mind with this important business coverage.

Request A Quote








Follow Us


Testimonials

Before Elite we really didn’t have a relationship with our insurance agents. Randy Hulett came into our place in 2010 and offered us a less expensive & more comprehensive insurance package. As a bonus, we also get a confident, knowledgeable and smiling agent! We’ve been with Elite ever since. All requests and questions are promptly handled by Randy and his staff. I highly recommend Elite Insurance for all your business related insurance needs. They will take care of you!
~ Jeanie Winkler, Nashville, TN